0800 612 9890

Suspense is over as Crime Thriller winners revealed

Friday, 19 October 2012

THE biggest mystery in crime fiction has been solved with the annoucement of the winners of the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2012, in association with the Crime Writers Association (CWA), Cactus TV and ITV3.

Some of the most wanted names in TV, film and publishing were honoured for their contribution to crime at last night’s celeb-packed awards ceremony, at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

Famous faces on the black carpet included Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman and Frances Barber, while other stars turned out in force to see the best writers, actors, producers and directors in the genre secure their Daggers – the more criminally-inclined Oscar®.

Literary winners on the night included:

  • Specsavers Bestseller Dagger 2012:Kathy Reichs
  • CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel of the Year sponsored by Constable and Robinson:Gene Kerrigan, The Rage
  • CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller, sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications:Charles Cumming, A Foreign Country
  • CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger, sponsored by Goldsboro Books:Wiley Cash, A Land More Kind than Home

The Specsavers Bestseller Dagger honours the success of authors throughout their careers and is chosen by the reading public. Katy Reichs, along with her felow shortlisted authors Anthony Horowitz, Jo Nesbo, Ann Cleeves and Stuart MacBride, was inugurated in to the Crime Thriller Hall of Fame during the ceremony, in recognition of their contribution to crime writing.

Kathy Reichs said: ‘Given the extraordinary company in which I find myself nominated for this award, I can't express how shocked and delighted I am.  This is truly an unexpected honor.’

Dame Mary Perkins, Specsavers founder, said: ‘As a personal fan of a blood curdling read, it’s been a pleasure to be a part of the Crime Thriller Awards for the fourth year running. We’re very proud to be involved in this annual showcase of world class writing, acting and production and would like to congratulate all the winners and nominees.’

The cream of small and big screen talent were also recognised at the awards, with winners including Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy  for The Film Dagger, Sherlock: Series 2 receiving The TV Dagger, Benedict Cumberbatch in Sherlock for The Best Actor Dagger and Claire Danes for Homeland taking home The Best Actress Dagger.

Amanda Ross, creator and executive producer of the Awards,said: ‘This has been a fantastic year for the genre, and it was great to see so many star authors and actors at the event.’

The awards ceremony formed a crescendo to ITV3’s six-week season of crime and drama programming including a specially commissioned documentary series called Crime Connections, featuring crime writers, actors, producers and directors.

The Winners of the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2012 are as follows:

The CWA Gold Dagger – sponsored by Constable & Robinson

  • The Rageby Gene Kerrigan (Harvill Secker)

The John Creasey New Blood Dagger – sponsored by Goldsboro Books

  • A Land More Kind than Homeby Wiley Cash (Bantam)

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger – sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications

  • A Foreign Countryby Charles Cumming (HarperCollins)

The Specsaver’s Bestseller Dagger 2012:

  • Kathy Reichs

The Film Dagger

  • Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy(Studio Canal)

The TV Dagger

  • Sherlock: Series 2(Hartswood Films/BBC1)

The International TV Dagger

  • The Bridge(Danmarks Radio, Sveriges Television/BBC4)

The Best Actress Dagger

  • Claire Danes forHomeland(Teakwood Lane Productions, Showtime Productions, Cherry Pie Productions, Keshet Media Group, Fox 21/Channel 4)

The Best Actor Dagger

  • Benedict Cumberbatch forSherlock (Hartswood Films/BBC1)

The Best Supporting Actress Dagger

  • Kelly Macdonald forBoardwalk Empire(HBO/Sky Atlantic)

The Best Supporting Actor Dagger

  • Martin Freeman forSherlock(Hartswood Films/BBC1)


- Ends -


For further information from Specsavers, please contact Gareth Anderson at Beattie Communications on tel: 020 7053 6000 or email: nationalspecsavers@beattiegroup.com.

Issued by Beattie Communications on behalf of Specsavers 


Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards

The Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2012 will be televised on ITV3 on Tuesday 23 October. The 2012 Awards are the fifth annual produced by Cactus TV for ITV3, and the fourth annual sponsored by Specsavers and in conjunction with the Crime Writers' Association.                                                                                                                 


Specsavers was founded by Doug and Dame Mary Perkins in 1984 and is now the largest privately owned opticians in the world. The couple still run the company, along with their three children. Their eldest son John is joint managing director. Specsavers has almost 1,600 stores throughout the UK, Ireland, the Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Spain and Australia. Specsavers was voted Britain’s most trusted brand of opticians for the eleventh year running by Reader’s Digest in 2012. More information can be found at: www.specsavers.co.uk


Cactus TV

Cactus TV is a member of the ALL3MEDIA group and run by husband and wife team Simon and Amanda Ross. Productions include Saturday Kitchen for BBC1, Hairy Bikers Food Tour of Britain for BBC2, Rachel Allen, Galaxy British Book Awards and 8 years of the Richard & Judy show live from Cactus studios.



ITV3’s focus on character driven narrative and drama helps the channel attract an upmarket audience – with 67% of ABC1 adults watching the channel in 2009. ITV3 is available on Freeview (channel 10), Freesat (115), Sky Digital (119) and Virgin Media (116).


Crime Writers’ Association

The Crime Writers’ Association has a membership of over 450 writers of fiction and non-fiction. Its main aims are to promote the crime genre and to support professional writers. The CWA has been providing social and professional support for its members for more than half a century, as well as administering the prestigious Dagger Awards. The Daggers name and Crossed Daggers logo are registered Trade Marks of the Crime Writers’ Association, and are used under licence. For further information on the CWA: www.thecwa.co.uk or contact info@thecwa.co.uk.